Vector Portraits

Here are my vector portraits. I feel like you could work on these forever! It’s hard to decide when to stop and the possibilities with colour are endless.

vector-portrait

This project was challenging but I feel like I learnt a lot and feel much more confident with the tools in illustrator. A challenge I had in particular was creating the details in the eyes, specifically the eyelashes. I also had a hard time seeing the face with just two tones, so It took me a while to decided what to keep/ omit. Once I completed the portrait I had a little fun with the layers. Sometimes you don’t need all the information and just need enough so the viewer can complete the rest with their imagination.

vector-portrait

Overall, I’m happy with how it turned out. After going through a million colour combinations I think in the end this one is my favourite. I decided to go with primary colours and created a strong contrast by combining a highly saturated yellow and red with a pastel blue.

vector-portrait_Alternate

 

Leave a Reply

